Chateau Canon is possibly named for the original owner and privateer, Jaques Kanon who bought the first 13 hectares in 1760 and constructed the chateau. It was not known under this name until the Fontemoing family, who would acquire it from Kanon in 1770, changed it to match their Fronsac property, also named Chateau Canon.
The estate is built upon the limestone quarries responsible for much of the stone which built Saint Emilion. In 2012, extensive renovation was started, including the shoring up of many of the limestone caves which were in danger of collapsing. Today visitors can walk underground between Canon and the chateaux of Beau-Sejor Becot and Clos Fourtet.
The vineyards of Chateau Canon is planted to 70% Merlot and 30% Cabernet Franc, with the second wine, Croix Canon, being produced from a separate vineyard and stored in the renovated 12th century chapel which sits on the property.